2019 Bee School

OCBA’s 2019 Beekeeping Class is Fully Enrolled
REGISTRATION IS CLOSED

Waiting for the smoke to settle the bees

2019’s Bee School is now fully enrolled. Our next Bee School will begin in January 2020. Information about other beekeeping schools can be found on the NC State Beekeepers website.

Enrollment for OCBA’s 2020 Bee School will open in October 2019.

About the School

Are you interested in beekeeping but don’t know where to begin? Are you a beekeeper who is interested in improving your beekeeping skills? Whatever your level of interest, Orange County Beekeepers Association’s Bee School is here for you. OCBA’s Bee School has been fully enrolled every year for the past several years. Enrollment is limited to 75 and classes fill up quickly.

Knowledgeable and experienced instructors cover the history of beekeeping, essential beekeeping skills, monitoring and treatment of pests and diseases and seasonal hive management. At the end of the course, you will be prepared to begin beekeeping. Two field day events are offered. The first will teach participants how to assemble hive components. A second hands-on, in-hive, field day will be held where specific beekeeping skills discussed in the classroom will be demonstrated. This course focuses on beekeeping using generally accepted beekeeping practices using traditional Langstroth style beehives.

Classes are approximately 2 hours long.

OCBA BEE SCHOOL CLASS SCHEDULE*

Tuesday, January 15, 2019 Introduction to Beekeeping
Tuesday, January 22, 2019 Honeybee Biology
Tuesday, January 29, 2019 Bees as Social Insects
Tuesday, February 5, 2019 Beekeeping Equipment
Tuesday, February 12, 2019 Getting Started
Tuesday, February 19, 2019 Varroa Mites
Tuesday, February 26, 2019 Diseases and Pests
Tuesday, March 5, 2019 Plants for Bees in NC
Tuesday, March 12, 2019 Products of the Hive
Tuesday, March 19, 2019 Seasonal Management/Review and Certification Exam
 

SPECIAL FIELD DAY EVENTS FOR BEE SCHOOL PARTICIPANTS

Saturday, February 9, 2019 Field Day – Equipment Building
Cedar Ridge High School, Hillsborough
Saturday, March 23, 2019 Field Day (weather permitting)
Location to be determined

*Note: The order of lectures may change in the event of weather delays or to accommodate instructor’s schedules.